Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Department of Physics at the University of Bayreuth

Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Computer Sciences

Print page

Bayreuth physicist new member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities


University of Bayreuth, Press Release No. 82/2022 - 23 May 2022

Prof. Dr. Anna Köhler, Chair of Soft Matter Optoelectronics at the University of Bayreuth, has been elected as a new full member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BAdW). She was recently officially welcomed as a new member of Section III "Natural Sciences, Mathematics, Engineering". The Bayreuth experimental physicist is only the fourth researcher to be admitted to this 58-member BAdW section.

"I warmly congratulate Professor Anna Köhler on her appointment to the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities. With her basic research on organic solar cells and organic light-emitting diodes, she has built up a great reputation for many years. At the same time, as Head of the Bayreuth Humboldt Centre, she has been very successful in attracting excellent scientists from various disciplines for international collaborations with the University of Bayreuth. I am very pleased that she will in future contribute her outstanding scientific expertise and her experience in the field of internationalisation of research and teaching to the work of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities," says University President Prof. Dr. Stefan Leible.

In the field of natural sciences, mathematics, and technical sciences, the University of Bayreuth's representation in the Bayreuth Academy of Sciences and Humanities has more than doubled over the last five years. In 2020, Prof. Dr. Michael Stoll, Chair of Computer Algebra, was elected a full member. Computer algebra develops algorithms for solving problems in the fields of algebra and number theory, among other things. Some of these algorithms are also useful in other areas of mathematics and its applications.

The geochemist and geologist Prof. Dr. Daniel Frost from the Bavarian Geoinstitute (BGI) at the University of Bayreuth has been a full member of the BAdW since 2017, and in 2020 he was admitted to the British Royal Society. Prof. Dr Hans Keppler, geophysicist, mineralogist, and volcanism researcher at the BGI, has been a full member of the BAdW since 2008. Frost and Keppler are Leibniz Prize winners of the German Research Foundation (DFG) and both belong to the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. With their research contributions on structures and processes in the Earth's interior, they are among the most internationally distinguished geoscientists in Germany.

The first Bayreuth natural scientist to be appointed as a full member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences is the experimental physicist Prof. Dr. Markus Schwoerer, Emeritus of Honour of the University of Bayreuth and President of the German Physical Society from 1996 to 1998. Like Prof. Dr. Anna Köhler, he has specialised in the study of the physics of semiconducting organic molecules.

 "I am very much looking forward to interdisciplinary exchange and cooperation in the Section for Natural Sciences, Mathematics or Technical Sciences. Together we will be able to strengthen Bavaria as a centre of research and, in the process, provide impetus for research and teaching at the individual universities in the Free State of Bavaria," says the Bayreuth experimental physicist.

In 2020, Prof. Dr. Anna Köhler was awarded the Max Born Prize by the German Physical Society (DPG) and the British Institute of Physics (IOP), named after the German physicist, mathematician and Nobel Prize winner. A year earlier, the Royal Society of Chemistry, a leading international professional society based in London, awarded the Bayreuth physicist the "Alexander Todd - Hans Krebs Lectureship in Chemical Sciences" for her excellent research achievements.

Prof. Dr. Anna Köhler
Chair of Experimental Physics II
University of Bayreuth

Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2600
E-mail: anna.koehler@uni-bayreuth.de
Web: https://www.ep2-bayreuth.de

Christian Wißler
Deputy Press & PR Manager, Research Communication
University of Bayreuth

Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-5356
E-mail: christian.wissler@uni-bayreuth.de

Facebook Youtube-Kanal Instagram LinkedIn UBT-A Contact