Master’s Programme in Physics

Physik-1

The master’s programme Physics at the University of Bayreuth is a two-year programme that builds on the bachelor’s programme Physics. Our master course in physics offers the opportunity to work in a highly creative research environment of renowned researchers that meets highest international standards. It provides specialized knowledge in the various subdisciplines of physics. The one-year research part is designed to foster the student’s ability to carry out independent scientific work.

The master’s programme in physics leads to the degree Master of Science (M.Sc.). It is a key qualification in central Europe and it is comparable with the formerly in Germany awarded Diplom. A master degree opens the possibility to pursue doctoral research of about three years. New students can enter the master’s programme in the winter semester or summer semester.

A Research-Oriented Master's Programme

Our master’s programme Physics encourages early involvement in research. The programme promotes a number of qualifications and skills, such as the following:

  • an advanced scientific understanding of the subject matter at a high international level,
  • the ability to carry out scientific work independently,
  • additional key skills such as project management, teamwork, and presenting complex facts clearly.

Successful graduates can pursue doctoral research and participate in a structured doctoral programme, e.g. in the framework of the Bayreuth Graduate School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences (BayNAT). A fast track option to the doctoral programme is also available.

Excellent Career Prospects

Investigating complex interrelationships in the natural sciences provides students with skills that are currently in high demand in science, technology, development, industry, and administration. More and more, physics is considered to be an indispensable factor for innovation in a broad spectrum of occupational fields. Demand for physics graduates is expected to grow further over the coming years. For this reason, a programme of study directed towards current research topics provides an excellent basis for launching your career.

Achieving Success with Creativity

The study of physics at a high academic level requires many degrees of freedom for creativity. For this reason, the master’s programme Physics gives students a great deal of freedom in selecting their focus within the research fields biological physics, solid state physics, nonlinear dynamics, soft matter physics and physics of molecular systems.

The students’ individual initiatives are actively supported. With the guidance and supervision of experienced teaching staff, students can select their main emphasis to develop a demanding individualized curriculum that includes a period for studying abroad. The short distances on our campus contribute to an overall exciting atmosphere for collaborations between professors and junior scholars in our well-equipped laboratories.

Physics connects – interdisciplinary projects

Physics research at the University of Bayreuth contributes central building blocks to the University’s research priorities in the natural sciences, especially macromolecular research, nonlinear dynamics, and materials science. Collaborations with partner universities and research institutions around the world provide research and teaching with valuable impetus and offer a broad range of opportunities for students to get involved.

Who is the programme of study directed towards?

The master’s programme Physics is directed towards students with a strong interest in the natural sciences. A first degree – generally a Bachelor of Science (Physics) or an equivalent degree – is a requirement for admission. Building on this basis, the master’s programme deepens the student’s expertise. Graduates are well-prepared for a broad range of demanding occupational fields at universities and research institutions, in industrial companies, medium-sized businesses, in public administration.

Application, Enrolment, and Duration of Study

New students can enter the master’s programme Physics in the winter semester or the summer semester. The standard period of study is four semesters.

No special application is required. Many years of experience have shown that those students who are able to succeed in their first three years of physics studies (i.e. the bachelor’s programme) are also generally able to succeed in the master’s programme.

Admission to the master’s programme Physics at the University of Bayreuth is often based on a bachelor’s degree in physics awarded by a university in Germany. The admission of other applicants is described in §2 of the examination regulations for the master’s programme Physics.

Contact

Please direct your e-mails to:

Further Information

 


 

 

Physikalisches Institut der Universität Bayreuth -

Master in Physik

Physik-1

Der Master-Studiengang Physik an der Universität Bayreuth baut als zweijähriger Studiengang auf dem Bachelor-Studiengang Physik auf. Er bietet Spezialkenntnisse in Teilfächern der Physik und führt zu einem Ausbildungsstand auf international höchstem Niveau. Eine insgesamt einjährige Forschungsphase soll dabei zu selbständigem wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten befähigen. Der Masterabschluss "Master of Science" (M.Sc.) ist vom Qualifikationsniveau mit dem bisherigen Diplom vergleichbar und berechtigt grundsätzlich zur Promotion.

Der Masterstudiengang Physik baut als konsekutiver Studiengang auf dem Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Physik oder einem gleichwertigen Bachelor-Abschluss auf und führt in vier Semestern zum Abschluss "Master of Science" (M.Sc.) in Physik. Das Masterstudium kann zum Winter- oder zum Sommersemester aufgenommen werden.

Ein Forschungsorientierter Masterstudiengang

Der Masterstudiengang Physik fördert eine frühzeitige Mitwirkung in der Forschung. Er vermittelt vielfältige Qualifikationen und Kompetenzen, insbesondere:

  • vertiefte wissenschaftliche Fachkenntnisse auf internationalem Niveau
  • Befähigung zum selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten
  • weitere Schlüsselqualifikationen wie Projektmanagement, Teamarbeit und klare Präsentation komplexer Sachverhalte

Erfolgreiche Absolventen können promovieren und z.B. im Rahmen der Graduiertenschule für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften (BayNat) an einem strukturierten Promotionsprogramm teilnehmen. Es besteht dabei die Option eines Fast-Track-Zugangs zum Promotionsprogramm.

Exzellente Berufsaussichten

Durch die Erforschung komplexer naturwissenschaftlicher Zusammenhänge erwerben die Studierenden im Masterstudium Kompetenzen, die in Wissenschaft, Entwicklung, Technik, Wirtschaft und Verwaltung schon heute eindringlich gesucht werden. In einer breiten Palette von Berufsfeldern gilt die Physik zunehmend als unverzichtbarer Innovationsfaktor. Es wird eine Steigerung des Bedarfs an PhysikabsolventInnen um 50 Prozent in den kommenden 15 Jahren prognostiziert. Ein auf aktuelle Forschungsthemen ausgerichtetes Studium ist daher eine hervorragende Ausgangsbasis für den Berufseinstieg.

Druch Kreativität zum Erfolg

Ein erfolgreiches Physikstudium mit hohem wissenschaftlichem Standard braucht Freiräume für Kreativität. Der Bayreuther Masterstudiengang Physik bietet deshalb den Studierenden große Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten bei der Umsetzung anspruchsvoller Ziele im Rahmen der Bayreuther Schwerpunktbereiche Biologische Physik, Festkörperphysik, Nichtlineare Dynamik und Physik weicher Materie.

Eigene Initiativen werden gezielt gefördert. Begleitet und beraten von erfahrenen Dozenten, können die Studierenden thematische Schwerpunkte so wählen, dass sich daraus ein anspruchsvoller individueller Studienverlauf auch unter Einschluss von Auslandsaufenthalten entwickelt. Kurze Wege auf dem Campus fördern die Zusammenarbeit mit Nachwuchswissenschaftlern und Professoren in
hervorragend ausgestatteten Laboratorien.

Physik verbindet - Interdisziplinäre Projekte

Die Forschung in der Physik an der Universität Bayreuth ist mit mehreren naturwissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkten der Universität verzahnt, insbesondere mit der Makromolekülforschung, der Nichtlinearen Dynamik und der Materialwissenschaft. Kooperationen mit Partneruniversitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen weltweit geben wertvolle Impulse für Forschung und Lehre und bieten vielfältige Mitwirkungsmöglichkeiten für Studierende.

An wen richtet sich der Studiengang?

Der Masterstudiengang Physik wendet sich an Studierende mit einem ausgeprägten naturwissenschaftlichen Interesse. Zulassungsvoraussetzung ist ein erster Studienabschluss, im Normalfall ein Bachelor of Science (Physik) oder ein äquivalenter Abschluss. Darauf aufbauend, vertieft der Masterstudiengang die wissenschaftliche Ausbildung. Die Absolventen sind bestens qualifiziert für ein breites Berufsbild mit verantwortungsvollen Tätigkeiten in Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen, Industrieunternehmen, mittelständischen Firmen oder in öffentlichen Verwaltungen.

Einschreibung, Bewerbung und Studiendauer

Der Masterstudiengang Physik kann zum Wintersemester oder zum Sommersemester aufgenommen werden. Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt vier Semester.

Auf eine Bewerbung wird verzichtet, denn die langjährigen Erfahrungen zeigen, dass nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung der ersten drei Jahre eines Physikstudiums (Bachelor) in der Regel auch das Masterstudium gemeistert wird.

Der Zugang zum Masterstudium Physik an der Universität Bayreuth erfolgt typischerweise über einen an einer Universität in Deutschland erworbenen Bachelor-Abschluss in Physik. Die Zugangsmöglichkeiten darüber hinaus sind im §2 der Prüfungsordnung für den Master in Physik beschrieben.

Ansprechpartner

Kontaktadresse

Weitere Informationen

 

 

Weitere Informationen und Ansprechpartner finden Sie auf der Seite der Studienfachberatung.

 

 

 

Physikalisches Institut der Universität Bayreuth -